Darts – BetVictor World Matchplay Schedule Confirmed


THE schedule of play for the BetVictor World Matchplay has been confirmed, with the all-Dutch tie between Michael van Gerwen and Jeffrey de Zwaan to headline the opening night on Saturday July 21.

Blackpool’s famous Winter Gardens will host the 25th staging of the World Matchplay later this month, with 32 players competing live on Sky Sports for the newly-titled Phil Taylor Trophy.

The first round is split across the opening three days, including a double session on Sunday July 22, with a mouth-watering opening night set to see the tournament begin in style.

Former finalist Adrian Lewis will face James Wilson in the opening fixture, before four-time quarter-finalist Dave Chisnall takes on Keegan Brown.

World number one Van Gerwen then meets Blackpool debutant De Zwaan, before 2018 Premier League finalist Michael Smith plays another World Matchplay debutant, Jonny Clayton.

Sunday’s afternoon session will see 2017 World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney take on Steve West, while Sunday evening‘s play features reigning World Champion Rob Cross and two-time World Champion Gary Anderson.

Last year’s runner-up Peter Wright begins his quest for a maiden Matchplay title on the final night of first round action as he meets Jelle Klaasen, with former champion James Wade also playing Jermaine Wattimena on Monday evening.

The second round is split across Tuesday and Wednesday nights in Blackpool, with the players from the bottom half of the draw playing on Tuesday and those in the top half in action on Wednesday.

The quarter-finals are then split across Thursday and Friday, with the semi-finals on Saturday before the eagerly-awaited final on Sunday.

The tournament features £500,000 prize money this year, including £115,000 to the eventual champion, with a £10,000 bonus on offer for a nine-dart finish.

Van Gerwen is the red-hot favourite with BetVictor to lift a third World Matchplay title at 4/6, Anderson is the 7/1 joint second favourite alongside Cross, with Wright in at 10/1.

The BetVictor World Matchplay will be broadcast on Sky Sports from July 21-29. For tickets, call the Winter Gardens Box Office on 0844 856 1111 or buy online at pdc.seetickets.com.

Thomas Cook Sport Breaks and Hospitality Packages are also available. See www.pdc.tv/tickets for full details and ticket information.

2018 BetVictor World Matchplay

Schedule of Play

Saturday July 21 (7pm)

First Round

Adrian Lewis v James Wilson

Dave Chisnall v Keegan Brown

Michael van Gerwen v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Michael Smith v Jonny Clayton

Sunday July 22

Afternoon Session (1pm)

First Round

Darren Webster v Steve Lennon

Ian White v Max Hopp

Gerwyn Price v Joe Cullen

Daryl Gurney v Steve West

Evening Session (7.30pm)

First Round

Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton

Gary Anderson v Stephen Bunting

Rob Cross v Mervyn King

Raymond van Barneveld v Kyle Anderson

Monday July 23 (7pm)

First Round

Kim Huybrechts v John Henderson

Simon Whitlock v Richard North

James Wade v Jermaine Wattimena

Peter Wright v Jelle Klaasen

Tuesday July 24 (7pm)

Second Round

Chisnall/Brown v Smith/Clayton

Gurney/West v Price/Cullen

Van Gerwen/De Zwaan v Lewis/Wilson

G Anderson/Bunting v Van Barneveld/K Anderson

Wednesday July 25 (7pm)

Second Round

Whitlock/North v Wade/Wattimena

Suljovic/Beaton v White/Hopp

Cross/King v Webster/Lennon

Wright/Klaasen v Huybrechts/Henderson

Thursday July 26 (7pm)

Quarter-Finals x2

Friday July 27 (7pm)

Quarter-Finals x2

Saturday July 28 (7pm)


Sunday July 29 (7pm)



First Round – Best of 19 legs

Second Round – Best of 25 legs

Quarter-Finals – Best of 31 legs

Semi-Finals – Best of 33 legs

Final – Best of 35 legs

Prize Fund:

Winner – £115,000

Runner-Up – £55,000

Semi-Finalists – £30,000

Quarter-Finalists – £17,500

Second Round Losers – £11,000

First Round Losers – £7,000

Total – £500,000